San Gabriel Stakes


Location: Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, California, United States
Inaugurated: 1935
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/2 miles (9 furlongs)
Track: Grass, left-handed
Qualification: Three-years-old & up
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $150,000
Grade: II


Bet on San Gabriel Stakes


US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

2014 San Gabriel Stakes Contenders

Here is a list of Contenders for the 67th running Of San Gabriel Stakes at Santa Anita Park, with $200,000 Guaranteed

Arctic North
Big Bane Theory
Bio Pro
Black Spirit
Den's Legacy
Dreamy Kid
Dubai You X Y Z
El Commodore
Empty Headed
Fire With Fire
Si Sage
Slim SHady (GB)
Te Rapa
Willyconker (IRE)


Jeranimo Wins the 2013 San Gabriel Stakes


B.J. Wright's Jeranimo propelled himself from last to first with a blistering turn of foot in Sunday's Grade 2, $150,500 San Gabriel Stakes at Santa Anita, regaining the title he first won in 2010. With Rafael Bejarano aboard, the Michael Pender veteran inhaled pacesetter Chosen Miracle inside the final furlong and kicked away to score by an emphatic 2 3/4 lengths.

Jeranimo benefited from a fast pace that set up his trademark late kick, a scenario that had been lacking in last year's San Gabriel. That running was actually his title defense, for the turf feature was not run in 2011, having been moved from its late December spot to January 16, 2012. With no pace on tap at all, Jeranimo uncharacteristically found himself on the early lead, and he was outfinished by Norvsky. In his third straight appearance in the San Gabriel on Sunday, there was no such problem.

The speedy Chosen Miracle bounded right to the front and established quick splits of :22 4/5, :46 3/5 and 1:10 4/5. Fast Track was his nearest pursuer, followed by Temple's Door and Tale of a Champion. Parked back in fifth was 3-2 favorite Slim Shadey, who crept closer approaching the far turn. Juniper Pass raced in the penultimate spot, and Jeranimo, the 2-1 second choice, was happy to bring up the rear.

Turning into the stretch, Chosen Miracle hung tough and was still on the lead at the mile mark in 1:35. Slim Shadey's brief run into contention flattened out, but Jeranimo was just beginning to hit top gear. The seven-year-old rapidly built up a head of steam and blasted right on by, finishing 1 1/8 miles on the firm turf in 1:46 2/5 and returning $6, $3.80 and $2.60.


San Gabriel Handicap Past Winners

2013 Jeranimo Rafael Bejarano 01:46.5
2012 Norvsky Rafael Bejarano 01:47.0
2011 ~ no race ~
2010 Jeranimo Rafael Bejarano 01:47.2
2009 Proudinsky Rafael Bejarano 01:46.9
2008 Proudinsky Rafael Bejarano 01:48.4
2007 Daytona Mike E. Smith 01:47.6
2006 King's Drama David Flores 01:48.5
2006 Badge of Silver Pat Valenzuela 01:50.0
2005 Truly A Judge Martin Pedroza 01:48.9
2004 ~ no race ~
2003 Redattore Alex Solis 01:48.2
2002 Grammarian Jose Valdivia, Jr. 01:48.1
2001 Irish Prize Gary Stevens 01:50.6
2001 Irish Prize Kent Desormeaux 01:47.9
2000 Brave Act Alex Solis 01:49.3
1999 ~ no race ~
1998 Brave Act Goncalino Almeida 01:46.8
1997 Martiniquais Corey Nakatani 01:48.4
1997 Rainbow Blues Gary Stevens 01:46.9
1996 Romarin Corey Nakatani 01:49.7
1995 Romarin Corey Nakatani 01:49.4
1994 Earl of Barking Chris McCarron 01:48.6
1993 Star of Cozzene Gary Stevens 01:48.3
1992 Classic Fame Eddie Delahoussaye 01:46.7
1991 ~ no race ~
1990 In Excess Gary Stevens 01:47.2

Proudly featured on: