Rachel Alexandra Stakes


Location: Fair Grounds Race Course, New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Inaugurated: 1982
Race type: Thoroughbred – Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/16 (8.5 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-old fillies
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $200,000

The Rachel Alexandra Stakes is an important prep race for developing three-year-old fillies. The race is a Grade II event with a purse of $200,000 and is a prep race to the Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing, including the Kentucky Oaks, the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes and Mother Goose Stakes.

Named after racehorse, Rachel Alexandra, who is a retired American Thoroughbred and the 2009 Horse of the Year winner. When Rachel Alexandra won the 2009 Preakness Stakes, the second leg of the Triple Crown, she became the first filly to win the race in 85 years.


Bet on Rachel Alexandra Stakes


US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Rachel Alexandra Stakes Past Winners


2013 Unlimited Budget Rosie Napravnik 01:45.4
2012 Summer Applause Robby Albarado 01:43.3
2011 Kathmanblu Julien R. Leparoux 01:45.1
2010 Jody Slew Miguel Mena 01:45.8
2009 War Echo Shaun Bridgmohan 01:45.2
2008 Indian Blessing Garrett Gomez 01:43.8
2007 Appealing Zophie John R. Velazquez 01:44.1
2006 Baghdaria Cliff Berry 01:46.1
2005 Summerly Donnie Meche 01:43.8
2004 Shadow Cast Robby Albarado 01:46.8
2003 Belle of Perintown Calvin Borel 01:44.5
2002 Take Charge Lady Jon Court 01:42.1
2001 Lakenheath Corey Lanerie 01:46.1
2000 Shawnee Country Donnie Meche 01:45.1
1999 Silverbulletday Gary L. Stevens 01:44.4
1998 Cool Dixie Ronald Ardoin 01:43.4
1997 Blushing K. D. Lonnie Meche 01:42.5
1996 Up Dip Curt Bourque 01:44.6
1995 Legendary Priness Christopher Emigh 01:44.4
1994 Playcaller Ronald Ardoin 01:44.3
1993 Bright Penny Ronald Ardoin 01:44.8
1992 Prospectors Delite B. Walker 01:43.8

Proudly featured on: