Louisiana Derby

Louisiana Derby Stakes Race Information

Location: Fair Grounds Race Course - New Orleans, Louisiana
Inaugural Race: 1894
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds
Weight: 122 lbs.
Purse: $1,000,000
Grade II race

Kentucky Derby Prep Race

The Louisiana Derby is part of the 2nd leg of the Kentucky Derby Prep Races - Championship Series, where the first four finishers will receive the following points in their race for the roses: 1st - 100points, 2nd - 40points, 3rd - 20points, 4th - 10points.

Over the next two weeks, Kentucky Derby hopefuls will run in the Florida and Louisiana Derbys along with the Wood Memorial and the Santa Anita Derby.

Bet on Louisiana Derby Stakes

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Louisiana Derby Past Winners

Year | Winner | Jockey | Trainer | Time

2013 Revolutionary Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher 01:50.3
2012 Hero of Order Eddie Martin Jr. Gennadi Dorochenko 01:50.1
2011 Pants On Fire Rosie Napravnik Kelly Breen 01:49.9
2010 Mission Impazible Rajiv Maragh Todd A. Pletcher 01:50.3
2009 Friesan Fire Gabriel Saez J. Larry Jones 01:43.5
2008 Pyro Sh.Bridgmohan Steve Asmussen 01:44.4
2007 Circular Quay John R. Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher 01:43.0
2006 No Race No Race No Race 00:00.0
2005 High Limit Ramon Dominguez Robert J. Frankel 01:42.7
2004 Wimbledon Javier Santiago Bob Baffert 01:42.7
2003 Peace Rules Edgar Prado Robert J. Frankel 01:42.7
2002 Repent Jerry D. Bailey Kenneth McPeek 01:43.9
2001 Fifty Stars Donnie Meche Steve Asmussen 01:44.8
2000 Mighty Shane Sellers Frank L. Brothers 01:43.3
1999 Kimberlite Pipe Robby Albarado Dallas Stewart 01:43.6
1998 Comic Strip Shane Sellers Neil J. Howard 01:43.4
1997 Crypto Star Pat Day Wayne Catalano 01:42.6
1996 Grindstone Jerry D. Bailey D. Wayne Lukas 01:42.8
1995 Petionville Chris Antley Randy Bradshaw 01:43.0
1994 Kandaly Craig Perret Louie J. Roussel III 01:42.9
1993 Dixieland Heat Randy Romero Gerald Romero 01:44.8
1992 Line In The Sand Pat Day Neil J. Howard 01:43.4
1991 Richman Pat Day William I. Mott 01:44.5
1990 Heaven Again Corey Nakatani Vincent Timphony 01:43.8


Proudly featured on: